Blog
Client Billing
Call Us Today
Call Us414-271-1440
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Instagram Yelp

Penalties for Impaired Driving in Wisconsin

Posted on in DUI / OWI

b2ap3_thumbnail_OWI-Milwaukee_20180803-181514_1.jpgby Attorney Steven McGaver and Law Clerk Nick Nelson 

Operating while under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating substances is a serious offense that can greatly affect a person’s ability to drive, reputation, criminal record, insurance rates, finances, or even career. Offenses commonly known as “drunk driving” are known as Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) in Wisconsin, and drivers should be sure to understand the consequences they may face if they are arrested for OWI.

OWI Penalties

A person commits OWI if he or she operates a vehicle while under the influence of any substance that impairs his or her ability to drive safely. Drivers may also be charged with a Prohibited Alcohol Concentration (PAC) if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 g/210L or higher (for drivers who have previously been convicted of three or more OWI charges or who are required to use an ignition interlock device, the legal limit is .02 g/210L) or if they have any detectable amount of a controlled substance in their system.

An OWI conviction typically carries the following potential penalties:

  • First Offense -

    • Fine of $150-300 (plus required costs and surcharges),

    • License suspension: 6 to 9 months

    • Ignition Interlock Device: Required for 1 year if BAC level is 0.15 or higher.

  • Second Offense -

    • Fine of $350-1,100 (plus required costs and surcharges),

    • Jail Confinement: 5 days to 6 months

    • License Suspension: 12 to 18 months + Confinement length

    • Ignition Interlock Device: Required for 12 to 18 months + Confinement length

  • Third Offense –

    • Fine of $600-2,000 (plus required costs and surcharges),

    • Jail Confinement: 45 days to 1 year

    • License Suspension: 2 to 3 years + Confinement length

    • Ignition Interlock Device: Required for 1 to 3 years + Confinement length

  • Fourth Offense –

    • Fine of $600-10,000 (plus required costs and surcharges),

    • Jail Confinement: 60 days to 6 years

    • License Suspension: 2 to 3 years + Confinement Length

    • Ignition Interlock Device: Required for 1 to 3 years + Confinement Length

Contact a Milwaukee, WI Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you have been arrested for drunk or impaired driving, you should speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP, we can help you understand your best options for defending against the charges and minimizing the consequences to your driver’s license. Contact our Milwaukee DUI/OWI defense attorneys at 414-271-1440 to arrange a consultation.

Sources:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/drunk-drv/ddoffenses.aspx

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/X/63/1

Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP

330 East Kilbourn Avenue
Suite 1170
Milwaukee, WI 53202

Phone: 414-271-1440
Fax: 414-271-7680
FBK TWT LNK INSTA Yelp
Back to Top