Go to Homepage
Blog
330 East Kilbourn Avenue, Suite 1170
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP

EmailEMAIL US

Phone414-271-1440

Wisconsin Hit-and-Run Accidents: Laws and Penalties

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Milwaukee hit-and-run charges attorneys, hit-and-run accidentsFleeing the scene of an accident, sometimes referred to as a hit-and-run, is against the law in Wisconsin, and offending drivers could face state charges. According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, at least one driver leaves the scene in about 11 percent of crashes reported to police, despite the illegality of hit-and-runs. The reasons for leaving the scene are numerous. Some drivers get scared and are not thinking clearly when they drive away. Others worry about their lack of insurance coverage.

Wisconsin Law Obligates Drivers in Accidents to Stop

Wisconsin law requires drivers involved in an accident to take certain steps, depending on whether the other vehicle is occupied or unoccupied. 

If the other vehicle is occupied, a driver must:

  • Give his or her name, address, and registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving to the driver or occupant of the other vehicle;
  • Show his or her driver’s license if requested; and
  • Give reasonable assistance to anyone injured such as transporting or arranging transportation to medical assistance if it is necessary or requested.

 If the other vehicle is unattended, a driver must:

  • Stop and locate the owner of the other vehicle and notify him or her of the driver’s name and address; or
  • Leave a written note in a visible place on the other vehicle containing the name and address of the driver and the circumstances of the accident. 

Penalties for Hit-and-Runs

The severity of the punishment for those convicted on hit-and-run charges depends on the facts of the accident. 

  • If there was no bodily injury sustained in the accident, misdemeanor charges usually are brought. This means that you will face a fine of $300 to $1,000 and/or up to six months in jail.
  • If the accident resulted in injury that does not rise to the level of “great bodily harm,” Class A misdemeanor charges are usually brought. This means that you will face a fine of up to $10,000 and/or up to nine months in prison.
  • If the accident resulted in “great bodily harm,” Class E felony charges are usually brought. This means that you will face a fine of up to $50,000 and up to 15 years in prison.
  • If the accident resulted in a fatality, Class D felony charges are usually brought. This means that you will face a fine of up to $100,000 and/or 25 years in prison

 Contact a Milwaukee, WI, Hit-and-Run Charges Lawyer 

A criminal defense lawyer can be a huge asset to you if you are charged, or think you may be charged, with a hit-and-run offense. You could be facing a significant amount of jail time, and an attorney will be able to make your best case in court.

Call the experienced Milwaukee hit-and-run charges attorneys at Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP at 414-271-1440, and take the first step toward resolving your legal issues.

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/XI/69

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/index/index/h/hit_and_run

https://www.aaafoundation.org/sites/default/files/HitandRunFS.pdf

Back to Top