Go to Homepage
Blog
330 East Kilbourn Avenue, Suite 1170
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP

EmailEMAIL US

Phone414-271-1440

Hit and Run Laws in Wisconsin

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Wisconsin defense attorney, Wisconsin criminal lawyer, Milwaukee hit and run attorneyDid you know that if you are involved in a car accident, even if you are rear-ended, sideswiped, or otherwise not at fault, it is your legal duty to stop immediately? Once you stop, there are other legal requirements you must follow. Failure to comply with the duties imposed by Wisconsin law after an accident can result in serious trouble. You will be charged with hit and run, which can be either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the accident. At worst, it is punishable with jail time and steep fines.

What Are Your Legal Obligations after an Accident?

Wisconsin law imposes several requirements on drivers after an accident. Whether you believe yourself to be at fault or not, the law requires you to stop your car immediately if you have been involved in an accident with another vehicle, bicycle, or pedestrian. You must do this even if the accident is minor, and there is no bodily injury or even visible property damage.

Once you stop, you must provide your name, address, and registration to the driver of the other vehicle (and any passengers who request it). You must also show your driver’s license to the other driver, if it is requested.

If there are injuries that result from the accident, you must also provide reasonable assistance. This includes calling an ambulance, or physically taking the injured party or parties to the hospital.

Wisconsin also imposes a duty to report accidents to the police, in many circumstances. There is a provision in the law which allows drivers who made a bad decision and left the scene of an accident 24 hours to rectify the mistake and self-report, and thereby avoid facing any criminal charges. Failing to do any of these things can result in hit and run charges.

Possible Penalties

Hit and run cases can be brought as misdemeanor charges or felony charges, depending on the extent of the damage and injuries. If nobody is injured and property damage is minimal, you may be charged with a Class B or C misdemeanor, which carries the possibility of up to three months in jail and a fine from $300 to $1,000. If there is some injury as a result of the accident, but nobody suffers “great bodily harm” you can be charged with Class A misdemeanor hit and run, which carries a possible jail term of up to nine months in jail, and fines of up to $10,000.

If anybody suffered serious bodily harm as a result of the accident, you will be charged with felony hit and run, a Class E felony. Class E felonies carry the potential jail sentence of up to 15 years and fines of up to $50,000. In the event that somebody dies at the scene, you will face Class D Felony hit and run charges, and could go to jail for 25 years, as well as face fines up to $100,000.

Contact Milwaukee Hit and Run Defense Attorneys Today

If you are facing hit and run charges stemming from an accident, the experienced Milwaukee criminal defense attorneys at our firm can help. We understand that there are many explanations and valid defenses to hit and run claims and will help you rectify any mistakes you may have made after an accident. Call us today at 414-271-1440 or email us for a no obligation consultation.

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2005/statutes/statutes/346/XI/675

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/XI/69

Back to Top